Your kids aren’t weird, They’re just “Millennials”

Hey there,

We hope that our Surfsideyouth Blog will be more than just a place for you to get the latest on what’s going on with our youth ministry. We’d also like to make this a place for you to come for resources on family, faith, and life in general. This is our first resource, and we hope to make it at least weekly. Do let us know what you think in the comments section, and if we’re “hitting or missing”. The point is to better serve you!

Just last month I (Paulo) turned 30. That’s right, I’m crossing the line! However, as you’ll notice in this post, I’m at the old “edge” of a generation that’s now being called “Millennials”. Your kids are at the young “edge” of this generation.

All this is to say that I’m at a curious spot. I get frustrated often, just as you do, with our youth. It seams sometimes that we’re from different planets. On the other hand, I can relate to a lot of what they go through because I to have lived most of my life “connected”. I remember the days when my now wife and I, as teenagers, spent hours “talking” online to each other before we even dated. We loved it!

So the next few resources are meant to help you better understand what it means for your kids to be “Millennials”. To start off, here’s an infographic  about Millenialls and how connected they are. We’ll go on to talk about what all this means in our next posts.

The Millennial Teenager
Courtesy of: Online Schools

Blessings,

Youth Ministry Team

Leave a Reply

