When Everything Changes… …again and again

Hey There!

I hope you are having a wonderful 4th of July week. You’ve probably looked at the picture already so let me explain: My wife (Juliana) and I (Paulo) just had our third baby girl! She was born last Friday, her name is Olivia Lara, and she’s beautiful!

I could just keep going on and on about her, but I won’t. I promise. I wanted to show her to you because her birth – and what it means to our family – has inspired me to think about change. I thought I’d share some thoughts with you on the subject.

Do you like change?     Well, if you’re like most people, you like to think that change is good or fun. But really, you despise it. Many of us have dreams of a life full of adventure, spontaneity, surprises, etc. But in reality, we couldn’t possibly handle that kind of life. And most of our routine decisions are proof of this. We take on loans, purchase homes, establish roots, keep the same friends. In short, we make long term commitments non-stop. And on top of all that, we’re all control freaks. All it takes is a flat tire or a dead battery on our smartphones to send us spiraling out of control!

The problem with our aversion to change though, is that it happens… often. And if you’re like me, it makes you anxious, worried, and often powerless.

Jesus, in Matthew’s gospel, said:

25 Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear…  …33 But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. 34 Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”

Are you relieved? If not, then you should read it in full by clicking here. It’s meant to give you rest. And it has done so to me for the last 6 years (one day I’ll write more about that). We’ve gone through our fair share of change during this time. More than I thought we could possibly handle. Actually, more than we CAN handle. And as I look back at all we’ve gone through, and what we’re heading for with our third child, I’ve realized that it’s OK.

It’s OK. Just that simple.

You see, we’re not meant for, or built for all the worry. It’s too much for us. All we can do is pretend we control things. So why bother?! God wants you to know that it’s OK. Not because you shouldn’t care, but because He cares more… and better!

The creator of the universe wants to take care of you! Stop and think about that for a minute.

Now that doesn’t make life less challenging. But it does give us hope.

Oh, and by the way… God does not change! And that’s what makes all the change around us less overwhelming. When all else is changing, our God stays the same.

“Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today, yes and forever ” (Hebrews 13:8)

So what are you worrying about these days? Do you have some change going on now that feels out of control? Let us know your thoughts at our comments section. We hope to hear from you!


Blessings, and happy 4th of July.

Paulo Lopes

Youth Ministry Team

Leave a Reply

